Kristina Owsinski

Seattle, WA

haute volée Since: 2017

Connect with me:

Twitter Instagram

born 02/16/1993
college University of Washington



What is your favorite quote that guides, inspires, or embodies your training/jumping/life?
Being my own worst critic it's always good to remind myself that "There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do." 

What was your favorite sport in middle school?
I did gymnastics growing up so I never had a lot of time for any other sports, but the one "sport" I loved playing in middle school was kickball! It was the only game I ever felt super confident playing. Definitely makes me want to join a league later in life! 

Can you share your first sports bra experience?
My first sports bra experience was brought on by a very embarrassing episode. Doing gymnastics as a young girl, leotards were a one piece kind of deal that never accounted for girls with boobs. I never wore a sports bra and wasn't exactly sure what one was until I was publicly shamed about my breasts coming in. Apparently everyone else could also see they were coming in. Disappointed I didn't have someone to guide me before this act of public humiliation, but grateful for my mother's help to find a sports bra that worked for me and my leotards. 

What is your absolutely favorite piece of #flystyle and why?
Anything LUX is my JAM! I'm all about comfort when I work out and when I'm living my life. As a true PNW girl I love me some sweatpants. The two of those things combined leave me with three pairs of lux sweatpants and honestly still needing another pair!    

If you could give one piece of advice to a 12 year old girl, what would it be? 
I would tell her, you are smart enough, strong enough, and capable enough to do anything that makes you happy. If the friends around you get in the way of these dreams, aspirations and daily life, then find new friends who bring you up not down! 

Tell us about your favorite place you have ever traveled to:

In 2015 I traveled out of the country for the first time to Japan. I don't have a lot to compare it to, but it was amazing. The food, the people, the culture, I embraced every minute of it. I'm lucky enough I get to set huge goals and plan to travel back to Japan in 2020 and do what I love. 

What alternative career do you fantasize about?
I'm a huge foodie. I eat food not only to fuel but to enjoy and I love the aspect of culture and community that surrounds it. I would love to have Anthony Bourdain's job! Travel the world, eat, and meet new people. Really anything food related and I'm in.   

What is your superpower?  
Maybe this is just called intuition, but I believe my superpower is reading people really well. 

personal bests

Indoor 4.33m (14'2")
Outdoor 4.40m (14'5.25")



competition highlights

2017 NCAA Outdoor First Team All-American 5th Place
2017 PAC-12 Runner Up
2015 USATF Outdoor Championship Qualifier
2015 NCAA Outdoor First Team All-American 4th Place 
2015 PAC-12 Champion