Click to Shop
August 08, 2013

Olé Volée!

sally.jpgBeing innately good at ANYTHING is a weird deal. If a person has intelligence, beauty, or above average running speed, chances are they had very little do with acquiring it. They got lucky. They hit the DNA jackpot, and BOOM. Of course, what you do with innate talent equals the final mile. We all know a few of those frustrating people who get A's without studying, win races without training, or get noticed for their looks while being a total airhead (women AND men). So you get what you get -- and work with what you got.
For me, I got a medium-sized helping of running talent. That means I was decent from the start and improved tons with training. That landed me at the front of small races and in the top third of big ones. I have never been, nor ever will be an elite runner. My fastest 5K was 17:06, which I ran on the track with a dude friend pacing me. It's still minutes off any national-caliber time. And yet, finding what I did, and running as well as I did became the greatest joy of my young life (pre-kids). I joined a local running club, got some free gear from Brooks (thank you neighbors!) and loved every minute of it.
All to say, I'm happy to say I'm a proud member of our Volée Team. And I'm honored to run alongside the amazing women that we've chosen for the 2013-14 year. The process itself was both daunting and difficult. After growing the team slowly, and with little recognition from the big world, this year we received 3 times as many applications as we had spots. A big thank you to Kristin Metcalf and standout NCAA Champ Katie Flood for pouring over every application, giving each person thought and consideration.
Ultimately, we had to make choices on who to accept. Our biggest driver for doing so - and not just swooping up everyone we can - was because we want to continue providing real benefits such as free clothes and meaningful discounts. As a small business, it's just not possible to do that for 500 runners. As we continue to grow, I hope that might be possible in the future! For those who applied but we were not able to accept, I want you to know we hope you will continue to be a part of our community. After all, our community = our inspiration. And that will never change.
We are beyond honored to have the women below on our team. Thank you for joining our flock and we hope to see you flying free and fast in the coming year!
Sally Bergesen
Founder + CEO


Athlete profiles for the new Volée members are coming soon! In the meantime, follow new birds on Twitter and spread the #oisellelove. You can also find existing birds on this Twitter list, and the Haute Volée on this list


Sara Cantrell - @RocketCityRun
Ashley Swink Fincher - @wotowineglass

Dana Joost - @runningmomaz

Jennifer Harpel

Emily Stone
Nicole Woyski - @fitnessfatale
Lentine Zahler - @lentinealexis
Michelle Chang - @michangster
Lauren Saylor - @losaylor
Drea McLarty - @twomotivate
Anne Riggin - @anneriggin

Julia Griffith - @julia_griffith
Bret Scofield - @brettiesco
Jocelyn Buras

Kelly Burns Gallagher - @kaburns1214
Jill Frier - @jillybeanruns
Mary Johnson - @itsamarython

District of Columbia
Prianka Nandy - @kaprian
Courtney Dredden - @EatPrayRunDC

Kristy Maxwell
Mary-Margaret Malone - @marymm
Atha Vermillion - @atha75

Katie Randolph - @MamaRandolph
Amy Upshaw
Asher Kyger Henry - @AshKHenry

Susie Stephen - @longrunergy


Beth Gillespie - @mellebeth
Hillary DeLong - @HillarySpeaks
Kristine Burgess - @KEJBurgess

Lindsey Hein - @lindseyhein
Lauren Hanley - @LMHanley

Karla Walsh - @karla522

Chelsea Gandolfi

Sara Bradley - @SaraBradley15

Michelle Witten - @seenontherun
Stephanie Devlin - @stephchadevlin

lauren volee.jpg

Lauren Leonard

Alicia Curley - @acurls
Chelsie Noble - @ChelsieNoble

Dani Stack - @dani_stack3
Ali Jones - @am588
Tracy Sciacca - @tracyhirigoyen
Hyedi Nelson - @hyedi

Megan Killian - @megankillian
Farron McIntee - @FarrLynn
Amanda Stanec - @movelivelearn

Heather Lieberg

Jayci Zakaras - @jaycizakaras
Michelle Paxon
Beckie Tuttle - @Beckietuttle

New Hampshire
Greer Thomas - @GreerThomas

New Jersey
Brennan McDavid - @yumrunner
Lauren Giannullo - @laurengiannullo
Catherine Haggarty - @KatieKate21
Greta Sieve - @grsieve

New Mexico
Debra Rivera - @_milestorun

New York
Gabrielle Kotkov - @marathonmacaron
Victoria Freile - @vfreile + @scootadoot
Phyllis Ying - @SmartStrongSane
Beth Isaac - @RxBethontheRun
Lisa Holt - @lisaholt5
Elissa Olin - @meversustheroad

North Carolina
Jolene Cannady
Carolyn Huang
Kristy Ratchford Crisp - @4human_rights


Emily Nickles - @redemily1
Heidi Greenwood - @heidijogreen
Danielle Hunt - @dannigirl88

Amy Jaggard - @amyjaggard
Marianne Falk - @mfalk4
Tammie Dubberly - @WBFitnessPdx
Jordyn Smith
Holly Roberts - @hroberts123
Emily Halnon - @emilysweats

Kristi Campbell - @runthelongroad
Danielle Murtha - @trailscocktails

Emily Siemer - @emiesiemie
Camille Crumpton - @ccrumpton

Melissa Carlson - @melissalicia512
Emilia Benton - @emmiemarieB
Lorraine Deichert - @5kraine
Lindsay Hazard
Landi Thompson - @preservingpolly

Stephanie Granlund - @stefgranlund
Colleen Lerro - @ColleenLerro
Anna Miller - @amiller7905
Krissy Murphy - @krissymmurphy
Hollie Heimer - @fueledbylolz
Alison Furton - @akfurton

Rebecca Pattee - @rebeccaontherun
Jessica Graham - @jmelanko
Marti Riemer - @runningriemer
Robyn Broker - @runbirdierun
Laura Hunter - @LauraRD
Kimberly Spalsbury - @findingfitness7
Carrie Atwood - @sprklnld
Kayla Evans - @KaylaCEvans
Portia O'Callaghan - @runportiarun


West Virginia
Jordan Hamric - @jhamric
Kelsey Markham - @kelseyelise678
Aubrey Moskal - @AubreyMoskal

Kimberly Leal Tortomasi
Jocelyn Schroeder
Michelle Zerzanek - @laceandrace
Sheila Wordell - @smwroadrunner

British Columbia
Darnelle Moore - @darnellemoore

Leana Keto - @runner_leana



Love This
237 users have voted.



Jocelyn | August 8, 2013 at 3:18pm

Teary eyed joy

It is beyond surreal to see my name on this list. I thought I was dreaming when I received the email from Kristin. Thank you SO much for the opportunity to fly with you!

Hyedi | August 8, 2013 at 4:17pm


Honored to be a part of this team of amazing women! Hyedi | @hyedi

Marci | August 8, 2013 at 4:30pm


Congrats to all the ladies announced today! So proud of you all and VERY excited to meet you out on the roads/trails! :)

Beckie Tuttle | August 8, 2013 at 4:51pm

Happy Birthday

I still wake up every day with a big smile on my face knowing I FINALLY made the team! I love everything about this family. Thank you again for making me a member.

Asher | August 8, 2013 at 4:55pm


So excited to be part of the flock! Thanks so much!

Gabrielle | August 8, 2013 at 5:00pm


So honored to be listed among such incredible women! Congrats to all the new birds!

Jill | August 8, 2013 at 5:18pm


So honored to be welcomed with open arms onto the Volée team! Such a great group of women who will surely #gofasttakechances!

Noel | August 8, 2013 at 6:37pm


I know I'm too late, but next year, I hope to represent the First State!

Carolyn | August 8, 2013 at 7:29pm

Bird love!

Thanks for this warm welcome! Very excited to represent Oiselle as a member of the Volée team. I'm looking forward to sharing our successes and miles together!

Stacey Black | August 9, 2013 at 12:05am

Welcome Volee

So excited to say Welcome to all the new teammates! Welcome to the flock and fly free!!

Lorraine Deichert (Raine) | August 9, 2013 at 3:15pm


Just wanted to say that I'm so, so proud to be a part of something so great. It's an honor to be teammates with every single one of y'all. :)

Lauren Giannullo | August 9, 2013 at 6:59pm


So honored to have been selected. I am so excited to represent Oiselle - I'll do my best to do you proud!

Amy | August 10, 2013 at 6:46pm

Fly High Ladies

Congrats to all of these amazing women and to Oiselle for sponsoring as many women as you do so generously! I will always support a company so dedicated o strong women. Helps that I dig your clothes too.

Megan | August 12, 2013 at 6:35am


Congratulations to all the lucky ladies!! I am sure you will inspire many this year!!

Kimberly Spalsbury | August 13, 2013 at 8:38am

Over come with JOY!

It is extremely AMAZING to see my name listed with all of these strong talented women! THANK YOU Oiselle! I plan to make us both so PROUD!

Alicia | August 14, 2013 at 10:25am


So excited, humbled and honored to be listed here with these women! Looking forward to all the amazing things that will come out of this group!